2021 Insuring a Brighter Tomorrow Scholarship Winners Announced

Posted on: May 26, 2021   |   Category: News Releases

The South Dakota Farmers Union Foundation, in cooperation with Farmers Union Insurance, announces the Insuring a Brighter Tomorrow scholarship recipients.

Each of the scholarship recipients will receive $1,000 to put toward their postsecondary education at a South Dakota college, university or technical school. Over the past 14 years, the Foundation has awarded more than $300,000 in scholarships to students.

The recipients were chosen from among a large pool of applicants. They were scored based on a combination of academic record, school, community and volunteer involvement and an essay responding to the following prompt: Describe a meaningful high school experience and how it impacted your life.

Farmers Union Insurance agents throughout the state fund this scholarship program administered by the Farmers Union Foundation. “Supporting tomorrow’s leaders through scholarships not only helps these amazing youth and their families, but it is one way Farmers Union remains strong in our support of family farmers, ranchers and their rural communities,” says Doug Sombke, SDFU President.

Scholarship recipients include Abigail Mayer, SF Washington High School; Courtney Turck, Redfield High School; Ella Wittmuss, Vermillion High School; Elle Hoops, Huron High School; Everett Paul, Sunshine Bible Academy; Hannah Whitney, Armour High School; Hayley Hanson, Winner High School; Isaac Suchor, Redfield High School; Jessie Lux, Eureka High School; Josh Hoffman, Leola High School; Kayla Van Osdel, Gayville-Volin High School; Kelcey Butler, Philip High School; Kennedy Leiferman, Kimball High School; Kyle Peterson, Northwestern High School; Lane Miller, Howard High School; Lauren Weishaar, Lemmon High School; Layton Eide, Deuel High School; Lindsey Grabowska, Ipswich Public High School; Logan Wagner, SF Roosevelt High School; Madison Weishaar, Lemmon High School; Mitchell VanderWal, Northwestern High School; Reilly Hoops, Huron High School; Sadie Streff, Clark High School; Samantha Hubert, New Underwood High School and Shaley Dirk, Newell High School.

Link to individual student photos here.